Xtraordinary Talents, Xceptional People: an Xcellent Dinner Concert Xperience in tribute to Candent’s 10th Anniversary

Thank you for providing us the opportunity to show our existing musical talents and releasing our inner musicians through stage performances. I am personally thankful for the combined well-paid efforts to organize an outstanding dinner concert and for the artistic and musical efforts I have poured into the souvenir programs and song performances. I am equally glad that I finally have a chance to see and interact with friends I have not seen for long. And since the concert is in commemoration to Candent’s 10 glorious years, I would love to highlight about my overall experience in the place I consider my second home.

I discovered Candent back when I was a teen, when I visited my childhood teachers (who happened to be the center’s main pioneers) while on vacation from abroad. It was not until 2012, few months after I moved back to the Philippines for good, that I became fully involved in Candent, starting from being a junior facilitator in camp to being a now assistant and camp’s volunteer facilitator. I also attended Life Coaching sessions and became one of the vocalists of the student band. From then until now, I cannot help but reminisce the good memories Candent and I shared together. I am happy that it has given me an opportunity to maximize my strengths (talents in arts, music and writing), to improve my weaknesses (dealing with stressful and problematic situations) and low self esteem, to discover a skill that I never thought I had (leadership and advocacy) and to meet friends I consider family.

Thank you Candent for being a beacon of hope to differently abled individuals like myself and for providing us a community with so much sense of belonging and that gives us a chance to learn different sets of skills that are home, work, community, school, social interaction and leisure related. Wishing you all the success in the future years!

My biggest congratulations once again to Candent for another successful concert! It was indeed a blast.

img_0475

 “Xtraordinary Talents, Xceptional People” Dinner Concert and Awards Night is organized to celebrate Candent’s 10th anniversary. Please visit Candent’s official website, Facebook, Twitter and Instagram pages. 

Related readings

Leave a Reply

