One day, at the Maya’s Kitchen..

Just when I thought of taking a baking class. I’ve always been involved in arts and music, my earliest passions in life, and thought of moving to a new direction where I can explore new interests such as culinary arts. I told myself that it would serve me in the future, especially when moving away from parents, getting married and having my own family. My undeniable love for desserts also drove me to learn baking. I’ve been looking for a prestigious short baking course that’s worth my experience, and to my luck, end up attending basic baking courses at the Maya’s Kitchen.

It is definitely one of the best courses I’ve been to. I’m not only referring to culinary arts courses but to courses in different areas. I’ve lived my life studying several courses such as voice, guitar, piano, charcoal painting, life coaching and personality development, theater acting workshops, and now, basic baking. It is my first time studying a culinary related course, and the basic baking from Maya’s already satisfied me. I learned how to bake a variety of delicacies (bread, cakes, pastries, cookies..) and a few tips to bake them more effectively as to provide good taste, texture, and appearance. Here are the snapshots taken during my times at the Maya’s Kitchen, during the demo and the hands-on.

1373446776427

The “mis-en-place”, wherein the bakers prepare the ingredients needed. 

The fundamental step in baking

???????????????????????????????

Cream Puffs in form of bird

IMG_20130710_142710

Chiffon Cake (top) and Pineapple Pie (bottom)

IMG_20130710_143950

Dark Chocolate Cupcakes

IMG_20130711_130128

Spanish Bread sample from the baking demo

IMG_20130711_130133

Ensaymada samples from the baking demo

IMG_20130711_133322

Bread dough for pandesal

Let it rise (covered in cloth) before the actual baking

IMG_20130712_111721

Focaccia topped with caramelized onion and pepper, from special demo by Chef John

If you’re looking for a baking and other culinary-related course, the Maya’s Kitchen is definitely a must go! It is good to interact with an experienced instructor and sometimes course mates, who will guide you in giving your desserts a better flavor. Another reason for appreciating this course is I gained some friends. It is a relief knowing that other adults still explore their passions as I’ve always been doing.

IMG_20130712_133102

Basic Baking Class Batch July 09-12, 2013 with instructor Ms. Rory Quintos

IMG_1988

The Maya Kitchen’s freebies sported by dearest plushies

IMG_1994

Post-baking reads

IMG_20130712_132702

And finally, my baking certificate!

No wonder how my full name is included. ^^

For more inquiries about the course and center, kindly visit the Maya’s Kitchen website at http://www.themayakitchen.com/. There is more to this culinary art center than my blog can tell. 🙂

Leave a Reply

